Nathan Olson playing violin

Breckenridge Music Festival

Haydn’s Farewell Symphony

Featuring Nathan Olson, violin



August 1

Aug 1


Riverwalk Center

In this palindromic program, we frame the action with two of Haydn’s greatest mid-life symphonies. The aptly subtitled “Passione” sets the scene and the “Farewell” quite literally deconstructs it—player by player. Within the frame, Bartók’s joyous First Violin Concerto, played by Concertmaster Nathan Olson, joins with the gem-like Music for a Small Ensemble by the indomitable American composer, Ruth Crawford Seeger, to create a program of sparkling contrasts.

Franz Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 49 in F minor, “La passione”,

Béla Bartók

Violin Concerto No. 1


Ruth Crawford Seeger

Music for a Small Ensemble

Franz Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 45 in F-sharp minor, “Farewell Symphony”,

Steven Schick composer
Steven Schick Conductor

Percussionist, conductor, and author Steven Schick was born in Iowa and raised in a farming family. Hailed by Alex Ross in the New Yorker as, “one of our supreme living virtuosos, not just of percussion but of any instrument,” he has championed contemporary percussion music by commissioning or premiering more than one hundred-fifty new works. The most important of these have become core repertory for solo percussion. Schick was inducted into the Percussive Arts Society Hall of Fame in 2014.

Steven Schick is artistic director of the La Jolla Symphony and Chorus and the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players. As a conductor, he has appeared with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, the Milwaukee Symphony, Ensemble Modern, the International Contemporary Ensemble, and the Asko/Schönberg Ensemble. He is the curator of, and will be conductor and percussion soloist in, “It’s About Time,” a festival of the San Diego Symphony to be held in January of 2018.

Schick’s publications include a book, “The Percussionist’s Art: Same Bed, Different Dreams,” and many articles. He has released numerous recordings including the 2010 “Percussion Works of Iannis Xenakis,” and its companion, “The Complete Early Percussion Works of Karlheinz Stockhausen” in 2014 (both on Mode). He received the “Diapason d’Or” as conductor (Xenakis Ensemble Music with ICE) and the Deutscheschallplattenkritikpreis, as percussionist (Stockhausen), each for the best new music release of 2015. He was inducted into the Percussive Arts Society Hall of Fame in 2014.

Steven Schick is Distinguished Professor of Music and holds the Reed Family Presidential Chair at the University of California, San Diego. He was music director of the 2015 Ojai Festival.

Nathan Olson violinist for Breckenridge Music Festival
Nathan Olson violin

Nathan Olson holds the position of Co-Concertmaster with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, and has appeared as Guest Concertmaster with the Symphony Orchestras of Toronto, Omaha, and Tucson, and as Principal Second Violin with the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra. Nathan is a member of the Mainly Mozart and Bravo Vail Festivals. An enthusiastic chamber musician, he is a silver medal winner at the Fischoff Competition and has served on faculty at the Innsbrook Music Festival. A member of the Baumer String Quartet, he serves on faculty at the Crowden Chamber Music Workshop and the Monterey Chamber Music Workshop.

Concert Sponsor

Introducing The


Breckenridge Music takes concerts outside, on the road and into your neighborhood with its new mobile stage, the Breck Music AirStage.

Sign up for news about the upcoming season